Pollan-vore

Katherine (my MOH) got me the new Food Rules by Michael Pollan!

food rules

I seriously love this book.  It just makes so much sense to me and the way he presents his ideas and thoughts are very approachable for anyone.  I find that some sustainable food writers force ideas on you and it is all or nothing for them.  Pollan’s writings don’t come off that way to me. ( I even got two of my co-workers to read it! )  I checked out his tour dates and the next time he is in Baltimore tickets are going for $265!!!!  Holy moly!  I am thankful for having the opportunity to see him for free AND have gotten him to sign my book.  Re-reading his book got me all reeved up about food politics and how it mingles with our failing healthcare system.  Read the book if you want to know more!

So for dinner I had some lovely real food!

IMG_1381

Black bean and butternut squash enchiladas!

IMG_1380

Roasted squash, home cooked black beans, frozen corn rolled in a tortilla.  Topped with MamaPea’s taco bell sauce, salsa and all the cheese I had left.

IMG_1382

Delicious!  Butternut squash is so delicious and totally worth the time to roast.

Have you read and of the Michael Pollan books?  What did you think?

Leave a Reply

