Sweet Potatoes for a Picky Crowd

Every time we have an office party when we are asked to bring something for the crowd, I get worried.  Most of the people I work with are not fans of vegetables (I know I am generalizing here but overall I would say they are a meat and potatoes group).  I always want to bring something healthy to show them that healthy doesn’t mean tasteless.  Today was our deputy directors going away party and I made my best recipe yet!

IMG_1446

Chipotle Lime Sweet Potato Salad.  I got this idea from our wedding actually and added some chickpeas for some veg protein.Warner-9659

Above from wedding.

This recipe was seriously simple and I got a ton of compliments on it.  The only thing you have to cook are the sweet potatoes and they take 20-25min.

Chipotle, Lime, Sweet Potato Salad

  • 4 medium sweet potatoes peeled and cubed
  • 1 cup frozen corn (I used sweet white)
  • 1 cup cooked chickpeas
  • 2 finely diced chipotle peppers in adobo sauce – can add more peppers for more heat
  • juice of 3 limes
  • zest of 1 lime
  • 3 tbsp olive oil – divided into 1 tbsp and 2 tbsp
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 large clove of garlic pressed or finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 bunch of cilantro chopped fine
  1. Toss peeled and cubed sweet potatoes in 1 tbsp of olive oil and bake at 400 for approximately 20-25min until fork tender.
  2. While the potatoes are cooking whisk together remaining ingredients minus the corn and chickpeas.
  3. Mix in the chickpeas and corn.
  4. Add potatoes while warm to lime mixture and fold in to get the potatoes fully coated.
  5. The longer you can marinate, the better. (It is good hot out of the over too!)

IMG_1447

Deeeeelicious!

2 Comments on “Sweet Potatoes for a Picky Crowd”

  1. Jacki says:

    Those look delicious, familiar, yet different. I’ve recently changed that recipe up to reflect the season more, I now do a maple-mustard vinaigrette, toss the sweet potatoes with crispy kale and spiced pecans, and since I love, love, love goat cheese, I throw that in for good measure. Roasted red peppers and some chopped parsley would Christmas this up some. 🙂

  2. Moma Beans says:

    LilyBeans…this was so outstanding at your wedding, I look forward to tasting it again! Maybe Christmas Eve. Love, Moma Beans


Leave a Reply

