Afternoon Snack Attack

Every work day at 3pm, I have a snack.  It is just the way my work eating schedule works and it is about an hour and a half before I get to the gym.  For awhile I fell into the patterns of buying granola bars because they are easy to grab and go, but they always had so much sugar and many contain soy for some odd reason.  I took it upon myself to create a healthy afternoon snack that would get me through the gym and to dinner (to be honest, sometimes my lunch it too small and I have to eat two of these suckers to make it up dinner).

IMG_1448

I based my recipe on a combination of The Super Charge me Cookie from Eat, Drink and Be Vegan and the Walnut and Dried Cherry Bar from Healthy Appetite by Ellie Krieger.

LilyBean’s Afternoon Snack Attacks

  • 1 cup quick-cooking oats
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/4 cup wheat germ
  • 2 TBS flax meal
  • 1 TSP baking powder
  • 1 TSP cinnamon
  • 1/4 TSP salt
  • 1 TSP vanilla extra or almond extra depending on flavor profile
  • 1/3 cup honey or real maple syrup – depending on what flavor you are going for
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 egg (you could make a flax or chia “egg” to make these vegan)
  • 1/3 cup chopped dried fruit of choice – I have used guava, apricots and cranberries
  • 1/3 cup chopped nuts – I have been using pecans because that is what I have on hand
  1. Pre-heat oven to 350
  2. Mix vanilla, egg, honey/maple, applesauce in small bowl.
  3. Mix remaining ingredients in a large bowl.
  4. Add wet to dry.
  5. Scoop out with 1/4 cup measuring spoon to achieve 9 cookies onto either a silpat or a sprayed cookie sheet.  Flatten to cookie shape.
  6. Bake for 12-15min, flipping after 10min.

IMG_1450

The thing I like best about these are all of the different combinations you can make.  You could also add coconut or even cacao nibs or chocolate chips.  The possibilities are endless!

I even broke down the nutrition of an apricot-pecan cookie for those interested.

oatbar

Let me know if you try them!IMG_1451

4 Comments on “Afternoon Snack Attack”

  1. Mmm, these sound delicious! I would add coconut AND chocolate chips–love that combination! Have a great holiday, Heather!

  2. Lindsay says:

    they sound great! i made some pumpkin granola bars once and loved them!

  3. Moma Beans says:

    these look yummy! good work!


Leave a Reply

