Food Advertisement

We are moving in 15 days.  I have ten boxes packed and it looks like I have done nothing.  I tried packing with wine last night and pretended Katherine was here to help me.  All it did was make me sleepy and give up on packing.  Maybe I will pump some jams tonight to keep me motivated before I head down to Penn Station to pick up N for the 4th to last time (not like I am counting)!

While I pack away, I do have the tv on for background noise and this week two commercials have made me angry and want to call up General Mills and Splenda to give them a piece of my mind.  Have you seen them?

The Splenda Essentials commercial, which I cannot find on YouTube, shows off the new line of chemical sweeteners now with added fiber, B vitamins, and antioxidants for “adding a small boots of nutrients in every packet” to your day.  So now you have sucralose, dextrose, maltodextrin, and 1g of soluble fiber (in the fiber packet).  Man they are willing to jam extra “nutrients” into anything.  Why not try eating foods naturally high in fiber like oats, flax, peas, beans, and apples?  I am pretty sure they will soon come up with a pill filled with personalized nutrition.
Moving onto the General Mills commercial that says cereals like Lucky Charms are now “healthy” because whole grains are the first ingredient.  Never mind that marshmellows aka sugar then sugar are the next two ingredients.  I kind of have a personal rule that if a product claims to be healthy by promoting that it has added fiber, whole grains, lower fat, or lower sugar it probably isn’t.

I know these a sort of rantings but I would love to hear your thoughts.  Have you ever bought a food because of the ad you saw?  I know I HAD to have rice crispy treats cereal when I was a kid or I would die.

One Comment on “Food Advertisement”

  1. Katherine says:

    We should have video chatted while you packed! Wish I was there to help you pack!!! miss you beans!


Leave a Reply

