Red Beans and Rice

No our dinner had nothing to do with the Mardis Gras festivities, but it did involve red bean and rice!

When my mom and I were in Costa Rica last year, we had the most amazing black beans all of the time for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.  They were cooked in a slow cooker and I loved combining them with a tortilla and eggs in the morning.  I could not get over their creaminess and I attempted to recreate that tonight for dinner.IMG_1467

I cooked the beans based off a bunch of recipes in the slow cooker for 8 hours (6 hours low, 2 hours high) along with 1/2 an onion, jalapeño, salt, and 2 cloves of garlic.IMG_1469

I added some fresh cilantro, salsa, and a lime slice to the beans after spooning them on top of rice cooker brown rice that I doctored up with more cilantro and lime.  We love cilantro around these parts, and I used to hate it!

IMG_1470

Along with our beans and rice I made up some fresh Maryland greens with MD beet chips.  I had no idea you could cook beets so fast!  475 18min thin slices aka “chips”, olive oil, s&p.  They were crispy and delicious.  I will no longer wait an hour for my beets to roast and then burn my fingers trying to peel them!  I got the idea from my Fast, Fresh, and Green cookbook, that we got for our wedding.

IMG_1468

I hope everyone enjoyed their President’s Day and hopefully you had the day off as well!!!

One Comment on “Red Beans and Rice”

  1. Moma Beans says:

    Yeah beans and rice! Yeah Costa Rica. My red beans and rice were delicious,but involved more steps including baking for 1 1/2 hours, stirring every 1/2 hour. I hope I can convert to my slow cooker next year, after I have had more experience with slow cooker. love 3 day weekends. love, moma beans


Leave a Reply

