Quinoa Pizza Casserole

In line with my meal planning I have been scanning Pinterest for some good recipes.  I came across this one for quinoa pizza bites and added it to the to make list!

IMG_1473

I adjusted the original recipe to go with what I had and not use too many of my precious farm fresh eggs.  This is what I came up with and it was pretty darn delicious!

Quinoa Pizza Casserole – serves 4-6

  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 1/2 yellow onion, chopped fine
  • 1 clove garlic, pressed
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp italian herbs or your own blend of oregano, sage, thyme, rosemary and marjoram
  • 1 tsp dried basil – fresh would be better but we had none on hand
  • 1/3 cup hummus  – I used a “pizza” hummus that a tried to make earlier in the week, basically just tastes like oregano so I think any hummus would work – I used it as a binder more than a flavoring
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup grated cheddar/mozzarella/whatever mild cheese ya got
  • 1 small can of diced tomatoes – I used more tomatoes from NC
  • couple grinds of S&P
  1. Cook quinoa in 2 cups of water until all of the water is dissolved
  2. Coat 9×9 baking dish with olive oil and pre-heat oven to 350
  3. mix all ingredients while the quinoa is cooking
  4. mix in the quinoa and spot check to make sure everything is evenly mixed
  5. spread evenly in your dish and bake for 40-45min
  6. let cool for 5min and then scoop it out to enjoy!

IMG_1474

This was super simple because quinoa is such a fast cooking grain! AND it tasted like…wait for it…pizza!  Obviously not exactly but the flavors were there.

Along with the casserole I made some garlic knots with leftover empanada/pizza dough and cooked down some mixed dark greens with smoked paprika.

IMG_1476

Love garlic knots!

What have you found on Pinterest lately that has inspired you?  Do you pin?

Leave a Reply

