Weeknight Meal

Usually huevos rancheros are made for breakfast.  In fact I had them for breakfast when we were in Costa Rica!

IMG_0867

I am STILL trying to figure out exactly how to make those beans!

Last night we re-visited these flavors for dinner.  Super simple and quick, perfect for a weeknight meal.

IMG_1494

Huevos Ranchero – Serves 2

  • 4 tortillas
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup uncooked beans cooked with 1 jalapeño, 1/2 onion, and 1 clove garlic (or 1 cup cooked)
  • cilantro
  • scallions
  • avocado
  • salsa of choice

Jess, please forgive me for using split pitas, the store was out of tortillas!  I made the beans in the slow cooker with onion, garlic, and jalapeño while I was at work (you could totally used canned but I am trying to never use them again).  Once I got home from yoga, I  slapped the pita (tortilla) with some beans and cheese and threw it under the broiler.  I cooked our eggs to order, pulled out the beans, topped with egg, avocado, cilantro, scallions, and salsa.

IMG_1495

Delicious drippy farm yoke flavors the beans and cool avocado with the fresh herbs!IMG_1496

Amazing and easy any day of the week!

Have a great weekend!

3 Comments on “Weeknight Meal”

  1. V says:

    Hi L.B., why are you banning canned beans?
    Does “yoke” equal “yolk”?

    • Heather says:

      Yes, yoke = yolk I am just really bad at grammar and spelling! I think homemade beans just taste better than canned. There is also the sodium, BPA, and cost factors.

      • V says:

        True about canned pdts (and related enhanced premium you have to pay not to have the sodium and BPA)! One item I wanted to suggest (because I’ve been using it for so long and I find it incredibly convenient), is the pressure cooker: if you leave your beans soaking for a good 24 hours, than a pressure cooker will get the job done in 20 to 40 min (according to the bean type). Cheaper than using energy during the day and I promise it’s incredibly tasteful (just add some garlic and laurel to the water) – once ready, a bit of freshly ground black pepper + evoo will do wonders (if you add turmeric, combined to the black pepper it will turn the dish into a powerful anti-cancer meal too!).
        Side note – Congrats for your work on the blog: I’m eager to read it as often as I can!


Leave a Reply

