Birthday Week

Last week was my birthday week!  N and I went out to dinner at a local place called Jackie’s and then stopped by the ice cream shop for a couple of scoops to enjoy on our walk home.  It was so nice to actually be able to get out and enjoy this nice weather with a walk to dinner.IMG_1514

My mom came and visited this past weekend and we made a day of it in DC.

Sissy really liked that her shoes were there while we were out.

IMG_1516

Over the course of the day we covered 6 miles of walking and my feet could feel it.  Funny how sometimes 6 miles of running seems a lot easier than 6 miles of walk.  I think it is the time spent on your feet!  We were upright from about 11:30am-4:30pm.

We visited Sweetgreen near Capital Hill and then walked down to visit some of the Smithsonian Museums.IMG_8673

We spent time in the Native American, Natural History, and American History Museums. IMG_1517

After getting tussled around by lots of school children, we headed down to another crowd at the Tidal Basin.  The cherry trees are in full force!  Why are they not pink?!?!

IMG_8677

I feel bad for those coming to visit within the next two weeks.  They are peaking super early due to this amazing weather we have been having.IMG_1521

IMG_1519

From the cherry trees we walked up 17th street to our dinner destination.  At this point we both really wanted a cold beer!

We dined at Founding Farmers.  I want to say that the food was amazing and the service was stellar, but as my mom put it, “the drinks were the best part”.  This restaurant prides itself on being farm to table, organic, fresh, sustainable, and all things natural.  I had been craving a street hot dog from the vendors all day and when I saw them on the menu, I got excited.  Unfortunately I found out that their hot dog contain nitrates!  Nitrates are an extremely harmful carcinogen and I was sad to hear they were in my dinner choice.  I scrambled and got the shrimp and grits because I had never had it before.

IMG_1522

I tried not to think about the fact that my shrimp were probably from China and my sausage had nitrates as well…you live and you learn and we both agreed we need to make a trip up to Baltimore to our beloved Woodberry Kitchen instead of Founding Farmers.

This trip wasn’t about the food anyway, it was about the company!  I was so glad to have my mom here for a birthday weekend of fun and even angel food cake SmileIMG_8671

4 Comments on “Birthday Week”

  1. Happy belated birthday! Sounds like you had a wonderful celebration! Ice cream and cake makes for a pretty great birthday!

  2. Lindsay says:

    Aww such a good Mom!! I love your photos – did you get a new camera?? They all seem to be so good recently!!! GLad you had a good bday and cant wait to see you soon 🙂

  3. V says:

    BUON COMPLEANNO!
    Happy belated birthday! I love these photos, and your mom looks great, surrounded by blossoming pinkish cherry tree branches, only made more precious by the Jefferson Memorial in the background – pure elegance!
    V


Leave a Reply

