Dry Rub Catfish

There was a new fish on the dinner plate tonight!  I have always known catfish to be southern and fried, but I also know there are a ton of them swimming in the rivers of North America.  I consulted with my fish expert Jess, and she said that catfish was a good choice when looking for a fish species to feel good about eating in terms of sustainability.

IMG_1532

My former fish market boss said the best way to cook catfish is blackened.  I just made Emily’s blackened tofu last week so I thought I would go with about the same spice mix but bake it on high heat until it started to crisp.

I mixed together garlic powder, cayenne, celery seed, paprika, salt, pepper, coriander, and oregano, then coated my fish before baking it at 425 for 17min.

IMG_1534

It was good but I think I like trout better.  Something about it was just off.  I’m not really sure what?  Maybe it does need a good sear in some oil.

Along with the catfish I cooked up a wheat berry salad with baby kale, onion, garlic, beets and smoked paprika.IMG_1533

The sweet onions were a good compliment to the slightly bitter kale.

I will give catfish one more try, but given a choice I would pick another sustainable fish.  Next up, mussels!

Have you eaten catfish?  How was it prepared?  Did you like it?

4 Comments on “Dry Rub Catfish”

  1. Katherine says:

    I LOVE catfish!! But, I am southern so I think I have to. Frying it is delish, but I also like to do a little panko herbed crust and sear it in the pan on one side and then cut the head to finish. So yummy.

  2. Katherine says:

    *Heat..not head…whoops

  3. V says:

    I agree: not a big fan of catfish either.. funky taste – muddy…not of my liking. The whole Italy is not a fan of this fish, which you seldom find at fish markets – never actually seen it (the only way to have it: fish it yourself – that’s how popular it is!). Also, if frying it is the way to go, I doubt that’s much healthy.. I would give some other fish a go (small fish in general is good for the eco-system and for us too, because mercury content is low) – mussels are delish, but watch the cholesterol content (super rich in iron though). Squids are excellent – healthy, sustainable and can be cooked in a gazillion of ways (wish sauce for pasta, grilled, stewed,..), I would give it a go (I enjoy them once a week, with peas or as a main dish with sauce and whole grain pasta – yummy yummy!).
    However, I like your recipe, and I’ll use it to cook some other fish!
    Another good and easy way to cook your fish: clean, stuff with garlic, parsley, a few cherry tomatoes, wrap it all in tin foil, slip into oven for 20/30 min (375 degrees); serve and each guest will unwrap at table and enjoy! Simple, healthy and it preserves all taste and nutrients (besides, you will just toss bones & skin with the foil, and you’re done with post-dinner cleaning!).
    Do you still have calcium chocolate after dinner as you used to?

  4. Carrie says:

    The Whole Foods near me makes a pretty awesome catfish (and cheese grits- yum) from time to time that isn’t fried. I have no idea how they do it but might be worth asking next time you’re in there. That is if you’re allowed to set foot in the competition.


Leave a Reply

