Rhubarb!

This weekend I was fortunate enough to pick up some rhubarb from Three Springs Fruit Farm at the Farmer’s Market.IMG_1545

Rhubarb grows like a weed but hardly anyone keeps it on their land because it is a bit of an eyesore.  It is however, one of my favorite flavors of springtime!  Strawberry rhubarb is my second favorite pie flavor behind pumpkin.  Given my shortage of butter and oats I was stuck looking up some recipes for my rhubarb.   I found a cake recipe on a Rhubarb website (yes there are entire sites dedicated to the stuff) that did not involve butter or oil, so I was sold.  I cut down the sugar and made it half whole wheat.  I also used pecans instead of walnuts because I am allergic, and I have a big bag of pecans on hand.  Lastly I added some lemon zest to the batter because it really helps to bring out the flavor of rhubarb.

IMG_1546

This was delicious!  The cinnamon, pecans and rhubarb really came out in this.  I had some rhubarb leftover after making my cake so I whipped up a quick compote to slather on top of my oatmeal and toast.IMG_1547

Just boiled sliced rhubarb, a little water and a little sugar.  I might need to figure out how to get one of these growing at our non-existent future house!

Leave a Reply

