My Current Moral Debate

I am currently struggling with the problem of having amazing produce all around me all day long, offered at a great rate, BUT most of it is not from the area or even within the US.  I have tried to keep a relatively seasonal diet over the past year minus my daily banana.  This means I do not buy any other tropical fruits, berries, or tomatoes unless it is the summer, and I eat a lot of kale and squash in the winter.  Now I am not perfect and I do on occasion have some foods out of season, especially when I order a salad out and it is made of baby greens and contains tomatoes.  No one is perfect but just think about how amazing a summer tomato tastes warmed in the sun’s rays vs. a hot house tomato flown in from Mexico.  There is no comparison.  Not to mention the amount of fossil fuel used to fly the tomato to me and the conditions the pickers have to deal with.IMG_8163

Getting back to my issues…we carry the mother load of delicious all organic produce and it is very hard to say no to the strawberries, peppers, and raspberries.  I try and stay away from them as much as possible but some are just so hard to pass up.  We just need to get the local crops in ASAP and my garden needs to start producing!

What would you do?

4 Comments on “My Current Moral Debate”

  1. rugge says:

    Organic vs local…think of the carbon footprint created by producing fertilizers, pesticides, sprays, etc that go into conventional farming. Probably a hell of a lot greater than flying organic produce to your store.

  2. Carrie says:

    I find myself weighing both sides of the same debate. Fortunately we have some local farms that while not “certified” organic do use respectable growing methods. I would prefer to support a smaller, family-owned farm then a large corporation who is certified organic on the surface but maybe not so fabulous when you dig a little deeper. So when buying something I first look for local organic, then local (as long as I know how it was grown), then organic and finally I’ll resort to conventional if necessary.

  3. Moma Beans says:

    I am totally for local…but being in New England it is difficult. My exception to at least US produce is avocados…other than that I will not buy produce from other countries. It is tough when I look at raspberries, but it is doable as long as you don’t let yourself give in. I recommend that everyone read Animal Vegetable Mineral! It is inspiring and gives a good understanding of what it takes to live local – support system and humor are key ingredients. Happy to say the farmer’s market is now open! Thanks Lilybeans!

  4. Moma Beans says:

    By the way, I follow Carrie’s priorities…thanks


Leave a Reply

