While the Gardener is Away, the Veggies Will Play

My garden on 5/12/12

IMG_1572

My garden 5/29/12

IMG_1588

Holy cow.  We had 3 days of rain and then I went away for the holiday weekend.  The garden (and all of the plots around me) went a little bonkers.

After an hour of cleaning up…IMG_1593

I chopped down the mustard greens and my spinach.  My spinach had actually bolted Sad smile but I pulled off the leaves and got a huge bag of greens.  Guess what I am having for lunch!  I also put the mustard flowers into a ball jar on the dining room table as a lovely centerpiece.

The haul for the day…IMG_1592

Tons of mustard, spinach, Romaine, and a few green beans.

Growing shot!IMG_1591

This is the plant that was already growing in our plot when I started…I thought it was a cucumber but now it looks a lot like a zucchini, especially those flowers.  Now we are down to one cucumber plant, which is not doing so hot.  I might need to get another plant and maybe more beans…I just cannot stop!

Speaking of beans…

IMG_1590

We had the few beans I harvested on top of our greens last night, and Nick commented that no grocery bean can ever taste as good as fresh from the garden.  He couldn’t put a finger on the flavor, but I love seeing people get excited about vegetables.  Green beans are his favorite in general hence another reason why I think we need more!

Other highlights/lowlights…

  • my snap peas are not happy and may need to come out
  • I am thinking about putting in some eggplant when the lettuce goes
  • my tomatoes are getting flowers!
  • more bean plants are needed
  • maybe another cucumber
  • it is almost time to harvest a lot of kale! (Nick will juice a lot of it)

Lesson Learned:

Check on your garden every day if possible!

Questions:

What should I do when my lettuce, spinach and kale are done?  Will kale continue to produce after it gets to full size?  I am trying to learn more about how to handle things that don’t continue to produce once they reach maturity.

How are your gardens doing?

3 Comments on “While the Gardener is Away, the Veggies Will Play”

  1. Seattle Foodshed says:

    Have you thought abou planting bok choi? Res torpedo onions are also great!

  2. Carrie says:

    My cucumber plants aren’t looking so swell either! I’m debating wether to pull them and try something else. Also, I know some of the lettuces will go pretty late into the season before the frost. Any choi or root vegetable will go later into the fall as well.

  3. Moma Beans says:

    Lilybeans, I think it may be too hot now for snap peas, but more cucumbers should be fine! My recollection on lettuce is that you have to re plant in the fall. Maybe your farmers at the farmers market can help you. Love, MB


Leave a Reply

