Veggie Lentil Toast

It is Meatless Monday and I am trying to eat up my kitchen before leaving for Maine on Thursday.  It was time to get creative.

IMG_0047

Loaded Bruschetta

  • 2 slices of any artisan bread – I used a Kalamata olive loaf that I had leftover from last weeks farmers market.
  • 1 tbs tomato paste
  • basil leaves to cover bread
  • 1 small zucchini sliced thin
  • 1/4 cup cooked lentils
  • parm cheese

IMG_0048

Slice off two pieces of bread and lay them on a baking sheet.  Spread the tomato paste evenly over the two pieces of bread.  Layer basil leaves to cover.  Do the same with the zucchini.  Divide and spread the lentils over the zuc.  Sprinkle with parm cheese and bake for 15min at 350.

IMG_0050 Delicious!  Pair it with a nice side salad for some raw veggies and you are set!

I’ll let you know if I make anything else crazy with what is lurking around here.  I am going to the FM so that Nick has some fruit while I am gone.

Cheers!


2 Comments on “Veggie Lentil Toast”

  1. moma beans says:

    this looksand sounds like a winner and quick! Great option for dinner! Love, mb

  2. yum I love meatless monday meals!


Leave a comment